

## **Providing Choice & Value**

Generic CT and MRI Contrast Agents



## **ESNR 1998** Annual Meeting



AJNR Am J Neuroradiol 1999, 20 (6) 1183 http://www.ajnr.org/content/20/6/1183

This information is current as of July 7, 2025.

## MEETING SUMMARY

## ESNR 1998 Annual Meeting

The 10th annual meeting of the Eastern Neuroradiological Society met under the direction of President Jill Hunter of Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and Donnatela Tampieri (president-elect, program chairman, and vice president) of The Montreal Neurological Hospital and Institute in Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

The meeting was held in Baltimore, Maryland, August 28–30, 1998. The scientific program featured three half-day sessions, with special guest lectures by Robert Willinsky (Management of Intracranial Aneurysms: Endovascular versus Surgical), Allan J. Fox (Strategies in Adult Cerebral Vascular Lesions), Joseph A. Maldjian (Imaging and Functional MRI in Stroke), Gabrielle deVeber (Stroke in Childhood), Larissa T. Bilaniuk (Orbital Pathology), and David M. Yousem (Radiological Anatomy of the Neck and Skull Base).

There were also CAQ-type unknown case presentations by Pierre M. Bourgouin (Spine and Spinal Cord), Suzanne Fontaine (CNS Involvement of Systemic Diseases), and Larissa T. Bilaniuk (Head and Neck). In addition, there were 28 papers and two case reports presented over the 3-day period. Of these, 10 were presented by members-intraining.

An enjoyable social program, including the traditional Friday night reception at the Renaissance Harbor Place Hotel and a Saturday night buffet dinner before the Baltimore Orioles and Kansas City baseball game, was enjoyed by a number of participants. At the conclusion of the meeting, awards were presented in honor of Norman Leeds and Stephen Kieffer, members who were active in the establishment of the Society. The Norman Leeds



From left to right: Jeffrey Ross (vice president, president-elect and program chairman), Donatella Tampieri (president), Laurie Loevener (secretary), Jill Hunter (first past president), Robert De La Paz (second past president).

Award for the best scientific paper was awarded to David Mikulis for his paper entitled, "Activation of the Thalamus with Implanted Electrodes: FMRI Analysis of Externally Driven Brain Activity." The Stephen Kieffer Award for the best paper by a member-in-training went to Ibrahim Alorainy for his paper entitled, "MRI Findings in Cree Leukoencephalopathy."

A slate of officers including Donnatela Tampieri (president), Jeffrey S. Ross (vice pesident, president-elect, and program chairman), Laurie A. Loevner (secretary) and David J. Mikulis (treasurer) was approved at the business meeting. The 11th annual meeting will be held at the Hotel Inter-Continental in Montreal, Quebec, Canada August 27–29, 1999.